BS Comp. Sci. alumnus is part of winning AngelHack team, 2015

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Alumni

     UP Mindanao alumnus Tim A. Duhaylungsod Jr. (BS Computer Science 2014) was part of the winning team of the 2nd Angel Hackathon in Davao City. Below is an excerpt from the news article from Sun Star Davao issue of 24 August 2015.    

     "Davao app developer off to Silicon Valley

     THE second Angel Hackathon (AngelHack) Davao 2015 winning mobile application, HopChat, will represent Davao City in the annual Global Demo Day in Silicon Valley.
     HopChat, developed by a group composed of Davao-based IT professionals, is an application where one can send SMS from one phone to the next without wifi, Bluetooth or even telecommunication intermediaries.
     The two-day AngelHack concluded last August 16 at the PLDT-Smart Business Center on Bangoy St. in Davao City.
     The group is comprised of Eric Clark Su as the product developer, Tim A. Duhaylungsod Jr. (technical lead), Inaki Narciso (Android lead), Mark Valles (IOS developer) and Kevin Ladan (Android developer).
     More than 20 competing teams participated in this year's AngelHack. The HopChat team will undergo the AngelHack Accelerator Program where they will be mentored for 12 weeks before bringing them out to Silicon Valley to raise investment and introduce them to incubators."

Alumnus Errol Merquita wins a 1st Prize in Palanca, 2015

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Alumni

Picture3b     UP Mindanao alumnus Errol A. Merquita (BA Social Science 2002) won a 1st Prize in the 2015 Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature, the country’s most prestigious literary awards.  Mr. Merquita won in the Tula Para sa mga Bata Category for "Ang Iisang Paa Ng Tsinelas".
     This is Mr. Merquita's second Palanca Award, having won 2nd Prize in 2011 in the Short Story in Cebuano Category for “Isla Verde”, named after an area in Davao City populated by marginalized indigenous peoples. In 2010, he won 2nd Prize in the Bisaya Fiction Writing Contest of the Davao Writers Guild for his story “Kinsa ang Nagpatay sa Pari sa Calinan?” (in file photo).

New Medical Doctors, 2015

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Alumni

CSM PLE20152Eleven alumni of U.P. Mindanao are newly-licensed medical doctors after having passed the August 2015 Physician Licensure Examination. The new doctors are Raquel B. Agustin (BS Biology 2010), Modassir D. Calalagan (BSB 2010), Loradel Marbella S. Calio (BSB 2010), Ed Levi L. Camarillo (BSB 2010), Marcel Joshua L. del Fierro (BSB 2010), Donna Veda T. Escarlos (BSB 2009), Dannel Patrisha Grace H. Hiquiana (BSB 2009), Alfred Daniel M. Navarro (BSB 2010), Stephen Matthew B. Santos (BSB 2010, cum laude), Maria Sabrina A. Suaybaguio (BSB 2010), and Jude Carlo J. Muca (BSFT 2009).   [image/info from College of Science and Mathematics]

UPMFI "1st Oble Run", 6 Sept. 2015

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Alumni

11222248 10153522344804391 729114680456450357 nThe UP Mindanao Foundation will hold the 1st "Oblê Run" fun-run on 6 September 2015, Sunday, in Davao City. The fun-run objective is to raise scholarship funds for deserving students of UP Mindanao. Victoria Plaza Mall Parking Area at 5:30 A.M. is the start of the out-and-back fun-run. Registration fees are P250 for the 3-kilometer category, P350 for the 5-km., and P450 for the 10-km. Fees entitle runners to a race number, race shirt, and a light meal. Discounted student registration fees are available. Registration centers are at: UP Mindanao Foundation at 2/F Quitain Bldg., Anda St., Tel. 227-5326 or 09481233220, thru Ms. Sheila; UP Mindanao, Mintal, Tel. 293-0016, thru Prof. Armando Salazar or Albert Ramos; Sports Depot, Victoria Plaza Mall, thru Alex Sam or Jason Yap at #09177045454; or RCBC Savings Bank, JP Laurel Ave., thru Jojo Manulid at tel. #222-2805. Deadline for registration is 26 August.  Visit and sign up in the event page here.

Lock full review 888 Bookmaker