Student Life

Phi Kappa Phi members, 2017

on .

THE HONOR SOCIETY OF PHI KAPPA PHI Philippine Chapter 045 inducted 23 new members in ceremonies held in UP Mindanao on 21 June 2017. Chancellor Sylvia Concepcion gave the Welcome Remarks and Chapter Vice-President Georgina Encanto led the Ritual of Induction, assisted by Chapter Auditor Charita de los Reyes and Chapter Treasurer Fructuoso Sabug.

Inducted were: April Bascos, Jade Baylon, Kriza Calumba, Christine Dacera, Beryl Encabo, Reu Enguito, Eunice Fernandez, Karysa Garcia, Therese Gundaya, Jenny Lapitan, Melissa Loquias, Kathrina Molino, Ziyarah Manalo, Jarielle Millare, Kyla Ocso, Agape Valila, Ella Vaquilar, and Atlanta Yap for the Baccalaureate Level; Jula Beseos, Michael Muega, and Kristel Sartagoda for the Graduate Level; and Jayzer Billones and Dianne Corales. for the Junior Level​ ​

Ms. Kriza Calumba gave the Inspirational Address where she enjoined the new members to use their expertise to give back to the community.

The Ritual of Induction included the issuance of Phi Kappa Phi certificates and pin. The ceremonial putting of the pin onto the vestments of the new members were done by parents and guardians.

The response from the inductees was given by Reu Zandro Enguito. The Lighting of the Unity Candle was done by Jayzer Billones and Michael Muega.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in the USA in 1897 and the Philippine Chapter in 1933. The Society motto is "Let the love of learning rule humanity".

See the photos here:

20th Commencement Exercises, 2017

on .

THE 20th COMMENCEMENT EXERCISES of the University of the Philippines Mindanao was held on June 23 in ceremonies led by UP Vice-President for Administration Nestor Yunque.

Chancellor Sylvia Concepcion gave the Welcome Remarks and Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs Nilo Oponda gave the Introduction to the Commencement Speaker.

Associate Justice Marvic Mario Victor Leonen of the Supreme Court of the Philippines gave the Commencement Address. He urged the graduates to give their loved ones the standing ovation that they deserved, and spoke of his experiences in Mindanao, of ecosystems and food security, of local culture and multiplicity of views, and heroism.

Deans Jean Juanga, Dominica Dacera, and Larry Digal presented their respective graduates to Chancellor Concepcion who, in turn, presented them to Vice-President Yunque, who pronounced "alinsunod sa ayon sa kapangyarihang ipinagkaloob sa akin..iginawawad ko sa inyo ang mga degree at titulo..kasama ang mga responsibilidad na kaakibat nito". At which point, the graduating students transferred their individual sablay sashes from the right shoulder to the left, indicating their moment of graduation, accompanied by applause and cheers.

The presentation and distribution of academic awards to individual graduates was led by VP Yunque, with Chancellor Concepcion, VC Oponda, and University Registrar Aurelia Gomez.

The speech on behalf of Class of 2017 was delivered by Reu Zandro Enguito, BS Biology magna cum laude and recipient of the Chancellor's Award and Dean's Award for Academic Excellence, who called on his batchmates "to continue polishing that brilliance.. and harden that perseverance".

Culminating the ceremony, VP Yunque administered the Pledge of Loyalty to the Alma Mater, while UP Alumni Association national director Louis Biraogo and UP Mindanao Alumni Association Chairperson Catherine Otero inducted the new graduates to their respective alumni chapters.

See the event page and photos here:


THE 20th COMMENCEMENT EXERCISES of UP Mindanao will be held on June 23, 2017. A total of 171 graduates will be honored in the ceremony.

Class of 2017 is led by Reu Zandro Enguito, BS Biology magna cum laude, with Danica Mae Manubag and Viena Monterde, both BS Food Technology magna cum laude. They are followed by 38 graduates cum laude.

The academic programs and their graduates as follows: BA Communication Arts has 28 graduates; BS Biology has 25; BS Food Technology has 24; BS Applied Mathematics has 20; BS Agribusiness Economics has 20; BS Computer Science has 14; BS Architecture has 13; BA English (Creative Writing) has 6; BA Anthropology has 5; the Master in Management graduate program has 16.

Each of the graduates have individually completed either a research paper in the sciences or communication arts, an architectural design, a special problem in math or computer science, an anthropological field manuscript, or a strategic paper for enterprises, as a final requirement for their respective degrees.

Two new novels, "The House in Apokon" and "Stay Here", as well as short fiction, essays, and poetry were among the creative theses produced by the BA English (Creative Writing) class.

The Chancellor's Medals for Academic Excellence, for Leadership, and for Culture and the Arts will be awarded respectively to deserving graduates.

Visit the event page by clicking on this link.  

More Articles...

Lock full review 888 Bookmaker