UP's Pride and Glory

8th ICAEM, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

DSC 0189Fusarium wilt in banana and other agri-food and industry research findings were disclosed in the 8th International Conference on Agribusiness Economics and Management (ICAEM), held on October 27-28 in Davao City.

A total of 67 researches from 35 organizations were presented on the theme of "Building Resilience: Agribusiness in Times of Flux".

Fusarium wilt, also known as Panama disease, was addressed in talks by Dr. Sietze Vellema of Wageningen University and by Dr. Agustin Molina of Biodiversity International. This threat to the banana industry was further discussed in a plenary panel with experts from different sectors.

The rice industry and the use of climate-smart rice production were presented in a second plenary session.

A total of 175 participants heard the research findings from Sub-Saharan Africa, the Netherlands, Southeast Asia, and the Philippine islands of Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

Sessions tackled studies on: improving agricultural production for livestock, poultry, and other produce; post-harvest technologies for fruits, sweet pepper, and  dehydrated vegetables, among others; supply and value chains for vegetables, prawns, and sea-cucumber; and agri-products development for sago flour, baked products, chicken burger, and animal feeds.
The use of new technologies such as social media, geographic information systems, wireless-sensor networks, solar energy, and mathematical economic models for prices of rice and cocoa beans were shared.  

Social studies tackled business competencies, sharia-based micro-finance, and household welfare for farmers; community interventions in agrarian reform communities and NGO-assisted enterprises; marketing in aquaculture  and tourism; and consumer studies in consumer rights, genetically-modified crops, organic vegetables, and more.

The 8th ICAEM was organized by the UP Mindanao Office of Research in partnership with the UP School of Management and the UP Office of International Linkages.

In the photo is the Plenary Panel discussion on "The Threat of Panama Disease to the Philippine Banana Industry" with (left-right) Atty. Koronado Apuzen of Foundation  for Agrarian Reform Cooperatives in Mindanao (FARMCOOP), Dr. Edna Anit of Dept. of Science and Technology, Dr. Susan Razo of Dept. of Agriculture, Dr. Lorna Herradura of Bureau of Plant Industry, and Dr. Benny Corcolon of Tagum Agricultural Dev't Company (TADECO), and Prof. Larry Digal, Conference Chairperson.

Debate Society, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

DSC 0447

The UP Mindanao Debate Society paid a courtesy call to Chancellor Sylvia Concepcion to report on their participation in the 1st Philippine International Humanitarian Law Debates held on October 14-16, 2016 in Davao Central High School, Davao City.

According to Debate Society head Angellica Narvaiza (4,BA Communication Arts), four teams were fielded and participated in debates on issues of conflicts and wars such as the Syrian war, the US and Russian interventions, automated weapons systems, humanitarian aid, and the rules of wars.

UP-Min Team B composed of herself, Karl Tristan Butalid (3,BA Anthropology), and Wolfe Schievener Ote (3BACA) were tournament Semi-finalists.

Among the Quarter-finalists were UP-Min Team A composed of Bryle Matthew Bacatan (3,BS Food Technology), Renzo Polinar (3BACA), and Michael Saraña (3,BS Biology), who was named 7th Tournament Best Speaker.   

Serving as Adjudicators were Mark Billy Macaoay (2BSB), Nissa Caderao (2,BS Agribusiness Economics) and Sarika Rey (2,BA English), both of whom were named Breaking Adjudicators, and Kessel Mae Dominguez (3BSB), who was named 5th Best Adjudicator

UP-Min Team C was composed of Kimberly Cabantug (3BACA), Justin Neil villanueva (3BACA), and Jamie Therese Gundaya (4BACA).

UP-Min Team D was composed of Yrneh St. Lois Ladera (3BSB), Hyacinth Tiffany Jungco (3BACA), and Karl Andre Segovia (3BACA)

There were 170 participants coming from 13 different schools (7-high school, 6-college). The Debate was organized by the Philippine Red Cross-Davao City Chapter in partnership with the Davao Debate Union.

In the photo are (left-right) Andre Segovia, Kessel Dominguez, Tiffany Jungco, Angel Narvaiza, Chancellor Sylvia Concepcion, Michael Saraña, and Yrneh Ladera.  

UP ranked in Times survey, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

Times Higher Education (THE) released its results of world university rankings in September 2016. According to their letter, UP ranked “in the band of >800 this year out of 980 institutions” from 79 countries. UP got its highest scores in knowledge transfer and lowest in research influence.

THE ranks universities based on five “pillars”: 1) teaching or the learning environment (30 percent); 2) research volume, income, and reputation (30 percent); 3) citations or research influence (30 percent); 4) international outlook of staff, students, and research (7.5 percent); and 5) industry income or knowledge transfer (2.5 percent).

“Your strongest Pillar was Industry Income where you ranked in the fifth decile. Your weakest Pillar was Citations where you ranked in the ninth decile,” THE informed UP.

See the news report here.

Faculty in the list of Top Scientists, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

UP MINDANAO FACULTY MEMBERS IN THE LIST OF TOP 453 FILIPINO SCIENTISTS in the webpage "Ranking Web of Universities" administered by Cybermetrics Lab of the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (Spain):

# 127 Cleto L. Nanola Jr. (Dept. of Bio. Sci. and Envir. Studies)
197 Reynaldo G. Abad (DBSES)
221 Juma Novie A. Alviola (Dept. of Food Sci. and Chem.)
247 Larry N. Digal (School of Management)
254 Sylvia B. Concepcion (SOM)
272 Lyre E. Murao (DBSES)
276 Aleyla Escueta-de Cadiz (DBSES)
313 Annabelle U. Novero (DBSES)
346 Noreen V. Fundador (DFSC)
346 Pedro A. Alviola IV (SOM)
349 Marilou O. Montiflor (SOM)
354 Ruth U. Gamboa (DBSES)
376 Dominica D. Dacera (DFSC)
443 Luis Antonio T. Hualda (SOM)

In the same website, UP Mindanao is ranked number 12 in their list of top 100 universities in the Philippines in their July 2016 edition.  

To access the page, please click on the link here.

Swim Varsity earn medals in Kadayawan festival, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

DSC 0775     BS Agribusiness Economics sophomore Juan Antonio Mendoza won a gold medal, two silver medals, and one bronze medal for the UP Mindanao Swim Varsity Team in the 2016 Kadayawan Interschool Swimming Tournament held on 21 August at Ateneo de Davao Grade School.
     Mendoza won the gold medal in the 100m freestyle category, finishing at 58.06 seconds, marking him as the fastest swimmer in the same category overall in Davao City (based on the official Finals Time recorded). He won the two silver medals in the 100m backstroke and the 100m butterfly, a the bronze medal in the 100m breaststroke. He was awarded "Best Swimmer" for the 17yrs. and above category for males.
     The 5-person UP Mindanao Swim Team coached by Mr. Albert Ramos (Dept. of Human Kinetics) competed in 13 events and placed 10th out of 24 participating schools with 52 points accumulated. In the file photo at left are the swimmers who competed for UP Mindanao, namely (left to right) Mr. Mendoza, Ms. AJ Verga (BS Architecture), Ms. Paula Gabrielle Yap (BS Computer Science), Ms. Dominique Epie (BS Agribusiness Economics), Ms. Katherine Hintay who did not compete, and coach Albert Ramos (Dept. of Human Kinetics). Not in the photo, but who also competed, was Ms. Bhazel Acac (2BS Food Technology).

Lock full review www.8betting.co.uk 888 Bookmaker