UP's Pride and Glory

Architecture graduates achieve 100%-passing rate in board exam, 2015

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

DSC 0030As reported in the Sun-Star Davao newspaper issue of 22 June 2015:

UP Mindanao BS Architecture graduates registered a 100%-passing rate in the June 2015 Licensure Examination for Architecture. The new architects are Gwen Harriet R. Bautista, Karla Kressel L. Cereño, Agnes S. Canuto, Dairy Brylle D. Galua, Janreel C. Ignalig, Val Lois Gosimvino L. Israel, Lloyd Mark A. Monteveros, Jed Clinton D. Obeña, Mark Ndsy L. Puso, John Alexander O. Setarios, Modesto Omerglenn D. Tolentino, and Myra P. Zamora. All 12 were LEA first-timers. They were among the 1,201 passers of the 1,964 examinees who took the LEA on 12 and 14 June 2015.  According to reports from the UP Mindanao Department of Architecture, this is the seventh straight year that the BS Architecture graduates registered a 100%-passing rate.  Department chair, Prof. Jean Marie V. Juanga, attributed the success to the "collaborative effort and dedication of the Department faculty to mentor the students to become top-notch in their field and to have a noble aim in their personal pursuits." Seen in the file photo from May 2015 are Prof. Juanga (left) and Myra Zamora.    

Faculty members in Webometrics' 1st Ed. ranking, 2015

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

Presentation19768     The Webometrics' Ranking Web of Universities, located at www.webometrics.info, published a document titled, "Ranking of scientists in Philippines Institutions according to their Google Scholar Citations", First Edition.
     In their published document listing 153 scientists accessed on 04 June 2015, eight scientists from southern Philippines were included, five of whom are faculty members of UP Mindanao.
     Professor Sylvia Concepcion (School of Management) was ranked #86, followed by Prof. Larry Digal (School of Mgt.) at #88, Associate Professor Juma Novie Alviola (Dept. of Food Science and Chemistry) at #99, Assoc. Prof. Annabelle Novero (Dept. of Biological Science and Environmental Studies) at #143, and Assoc. Prof. Pedro Alviola IV (School of Mgt.) at #145.
     The list included Mindanao-based scientists Dr. Alan Dargantes of Central Mindanao University at #50, Dr. Reagan Joseph Villanueva of Southern Philippines Medical Center at #103, and Dr. Girley Gumanao of Davao del Norte State College at #142.
     According to their webpage, Webometrics is a project of the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, or Spanish Research Council.  
     The webpage stated that, "this edition was built with data collected during the third week of May 2015 from the public profiles of researchers working in Philippines (South East Asia) institutions. It is a BETA Ranking of the scientists according to their declared (voluntarily) presence in the Google Scholar Citations database.”
     Google Scholar is an internet-based search engine that contains texts or data of publications by researchers worldwide. (source: http://www.webometrics.info/en/node/148)

BA Communication Arts students awarded by PANA, 2015

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

10348374 979255472103399 2853030514691371104 n     The UP Mindanao student group "UPTrend Events" won top honors on Monday night in the 2015 PANAta Marketing Effectiveness Awards of the Philippine Association of National Advertisers (PANA) in ceremonies held at the Intercontinental Hotel, Makati City.
     UPTrend Events, composed of BA Communication Arts students of UP Mindanao, was named as Silver Awardee in the Academe category for their project, "#IMCDavao: A Seminar-Workshop on Integrated Marketing Communications", a Davao City-wide campaign. The AdCreate Society of De La Salle University was named the Bronze Awardee in the same category for their student project, "Never Okay campaign", a DLSU-wide anti-drug abuse campaign. A Gold Award was not given this year. Both student groups, the only finalists in the Academe category, received their plaque-trophies together with awardees from other prestigious national and multinational brands distributed in 13 other categories.   
     The news was released by faculty adviser, Mr. Julius Neil Piala (Dept. of Humanities), who credited the students, many of whom are graduating on June 24: Nelizza Marzo, Shanielle Cañeda, Bj Amahan, Enrico Bang, Joanne Miramon, Nicole Kathryn Go, Ella  Abadesco, Joseph Paragili, Justin Mejos, Blazy Lano, Mara Christina Ostique, Darwin Philip Teh, Kenon Pamosena, Jed Mendoza, Joi Christian Tutor, Archristine Saragena, Christine Damian, Algin Gultia, Rhiena Lee Montajes, Caryl Prizee Boliver, Jealmer Delgado, Mocha Bajao, Nur Jannah, Grace Ann Katrina Tan, and Maria Jessa Yu; and speakers Ms. Glorypearl Dy and Gloryrose Dy of Switotwins Digital Storytelling Philippines, Mr. Tommy Secuya of Carve Business Management Services, Mr. Benralph Yu of Nestle Philippines, Mr. Dan Pacoy & Ms. Danelle Jo Filipinas of Manic Nightnings Productions, and Mr. Domini Sebastian of Grand Regal Hotel; the sponsors Green Heights Davao, GH Office Depot, National Bookstore-SM Davao, Monster Radio BT 99.5, Davao Catholic Herald; and the student participants from San Pedro College, Philippine Women's College of Davao, and University of Mindanao. UPTrend Events, the group created by the SPCM 111: Business and Corporate Communication class, served as the event organizer, with an Executive Committee composed of Nicole Kathryn Go (President and Managing Director), Bj Amahan (Account Director), Kenon Pamosena (Communications Director), Darwin Philip Teh (Creative Director), Caryl Prizee Boliver (Production Director), Joi Christian Tutor (Finance Director), and Algin Gultia (Human Resources Director).

Malagos cocoa wins int'l award

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

10592776 10205799982431832 2944768452538402207 n1A  BS Food Technology alumna reported on social media on April 14, 2015 that Malagos Chocolate 100% Unsweetened Chocolate was awarded a Bronze Medal at the Academy of Chocolate 2015 international competition in London. Ms. Jenna Mae San Luis (BSFT 2013) disclosed that she was part of the product production team but refrained from making further comment, in deference to her employer.

The news report was finally published in the Philippine Star issue of April 29. It read, in part, "The Puentespina family, who runs Malagos Agri-Ventures Corp., ventured into the production of single-origin cocoa liquor in 2012, while also running a Bureau of Plant Industry-certified cacao nursery. The award-winning Malagos unsweetened chocolate was one of the company’s first products. Single-origin chocolate refers to chocolate made from one variety of cacao beans from a particular country or region. A single-origin chocolate is said to reflect in its taste the soil, climate and environment of where the beans were grown." Read the Philippine Star news report here

"Galaw, Indak, Sayaw" by Dance Ensemble, 2015

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

11150438 10205463370696807 5237241136286698543 n

The public is invited to come and view the dance-concert show, "Galaw, Indak, Sayaw" on April 30, 2015, 6 pm at the University Atrium, Administration Building, UP Mindanao, Mintal, Davao City. The audience will be presented with dances featuring neo-ethnic and modern influences accompanied by music from alternative and popular original Pilipino music bands like UDD, Junior Kilat, and Kuntaw Mindanao. The show will also feature a unique stage production design. The show will be performed by University of the Philippines Mindanao Dance Ensemble, the resident company of UP Mindanao. Admission is free of charge.

Lock full review www.8betting.co.uk 888 Bookmaker