UP's Pride and Glory

Debate Society, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

DSC 0447

The UP Mindanao Debate Society paid a courtesy call to Chancellor Sylvia Concepcion to report on their participation in the 1st Philippine International Humanitarian Law Debates held on October 14-16, 2016 in Davao Central High School, Davao City.

According to Debate Society head Angellica Narvaiza (4,BA Communication Arts), four teams were fielded and participated in debates on issues of conflicts and wars such as the Syrian war, the US and Russian interventions, automated weapons systems, humanitarian aid, and the rules of wars.

UP-Min Team B composed of herself, Karl Tristan Butalid (3,BA Anthropology), and Wolfe Schievener Ote (3BACA) were tournament Semi-finalists.

Among the Quarter-finalists were UP-Min Team A composed of Bryle Matthew Bacatan (3,BS Food Technology), Renzo Polinar (3BACA), and Michael Saraña (3,BS Biology), who was named 7th Tournament Best Speaker.   

Serving as Adjudicators were Mark Billy Macaoay (2BSB), Nissa Caderao (2,BS Agribusiness Economics) and Sarika Rey (2,BA English), both of whom were named Breaking Adjudicators, and Kessel Mae Dominguez (3BSB), who was named 5th Best Adjudicator

UP-Min Team C was composed of Kimberly Cabantug (3BACA), Justin Neil villanueva (3BACA), and Jamie Therese Gundaya (4BACA).

UP-Min Team D was composed of Yrneh St. Lois Ladera (3BSB), Hyacinth Tiffany Jungco (3BACA), and Karl Andre Segovia (3BACA)

There were 170 participants coming from 13 different schools (7-high school, 6-college). The Debate was organized by the Philippine Red Cross-Davao City Chapter in partnership with the Davao Debate Union.

In the photo are (left-right) Andre Segovia, Kessel Dominguez, Tiffany Jungco, Angel Narvaiza, Chancellor Sylvia Concepcion, Michael Saraña, and Yrneh Ladera.  

Lock full review www.8betting.co.uk 888 Bookmaker