Books donation from alumna, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Alumni

DSC 0953BOOKS WERE DONATED to the University Library by alumna Katrina Arreza Eugenio (BS Economics batch 2000) who is currently based in Canada. The donation was coursed through Ms. Aleli A. Quirante, former faculty member of UP Diliman and UP Mindanao. SOM College Secretary Vlademir Shuck (right) delivered the donations which were received by SOM College Librarian Divina Labiao.

The 19th Commencement, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Alumni

PAEP Class Valedictorian

     Some 258 candidates for graduation were awarded diplomas in the 19th Commencement Exercises of UP Mindanao on June 28. Class of 2016 was led by three magna cum laude (mcl) graduates in Ms. Claire Marie S. Jacinto (above, right) and Mr. Omid J. Siahmard from the BS Biology program, and Ms. Kim Dianne B. Ligue from BS Applied Mathematics. They are followed by 42 cum laude (cl) graduates.
    The undergraduate programs and their respective number of candidates were as follows: BS Biology, 45 candidates with 3 cl and 2 mcl; BA Communication Arts, 44 with 17 cl; BS Agribusiness Economics, 28 with 3 cl; BS Food Technology, 25 with 3 cl; BS Architecture, 22 with 1 cl; BA English (Creative Writing), 18 with 7 cl; BS Computer Science, 18 with 2 cl; BA Anthropology, 17 with 4 cl; BS Applied Mathematics, 19 with 2 cl and 1 mcl. The Master in Management program had 22 graduates.
    UP President Alfredo Pascual (top, left) awarded the diplomas and served as Commencement Speaker. This is the last commencement of UP Mindanao that Mr. Pascual will attend as 20th University President before his term ends on February 2017. The term of President Pascual has been very eventful and groundbreaking for the University. He introduced the brand name of “One UP” across the seven constituent universities and one autonomous college. He provided the strategic plan “The Path to Greatness” anchored on academic excellence and operational excellence. He opened new campuses. The amount of funding that he mobilized for UP during his term is unprecedented.

Conversation on Cebuano Literature, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Alumni

IMG 3306A CONVERSATION ON CEBUANO LITERATURE was held on July 3 in Balik-Bukid restaurant in Davao City. Adonis Durado, the poet of "Lisay sa Bugan" ("A Swelling in the Loins"), his translator Anthony L. Kintanar, and Davao historian and fictionist Mac Tiu were the guest resource persons. Mr. Durado (fourth from left in photo) shared his discoveries in creating rather than writing poetry, such as using the format of tweets, email, etc. to create poetic surprises. Mr. Kintanar (second from left) shared the challenges of translating the poems from Cebuano to the English language. Dr. Tiu spoke of the adoption of Cebuano or Binisaya in schools and its recognition as one of the National Languages. Eroll Merquita, John Bengan, and Jeffrey Javier served as facilitators, while former dean Tess Guillen, and Prof. Jhoanna Cruz gave reactions. The event followed the book launch of "Lisay sa Bugan" that was held on July 2 in Reggae Grill, Davao City. The events were co-organized by the UP Mindanao Dept. of Humanities, Davao Writers Guild, and Young Davao Writers.

BS Architecture is "100%-passing", produces 4th placer, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Alumni

13580480 1061974563887579 4746994920815884974 oThe UP Mindanao BS Architecture program maintained its "100%-passing" track record in the June 2016 Architect Licensure Examination with nine new architects. In addition, the program produced another top-ten placer in Ms. Kristin Faye Olalo (in photo) who was the lone 4th Placer in the nationwide exam. Ar. Olalo graduated cum laude with Class of 2015, among the first set of cum laude produced by the Architecture program, and her thesis was rated "with distinction".

According to Dept. of Architecture chairperson, Prof. Jean Marie Juanga, the new architects are Raissa Innah Barandino, Jannah Clarrise Clarin, Franelli Collong, Aycene Videz Curtiz, Henna Dazo, Kristin Faye Olalo, Coochie Alfie Sanchez, Lunel Andrew Sayon, and Abigail Joy Villanueva.

Lock full review 888 Bookmaker