Alumni News

Jaycee senator donates to student in need

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Alumni

IMG 0138
ASEAN Junior Chamber (“Jaycee”) Senator Gene Tan of Singapore (third from left in photo above) donated cash for a student in distress during an informal campus visit on September 30, 2022. UP Mindanao Foundation chairperson and Jaycee senator Sebastian Angliongto (left) brought Tan on a spontaneous campus visit on the occasion of Mr. Tan’s stopover in Davao City.  Chancellor Lyre Murao (second from left) and vice-chancellors Annabelle Novero (fourth from left) and Leo Estaña received the visitors and were later joined by student affairs director Maria Stella Salazar (right) with a draft brochure describing assistance programs for students in need. While the visitors browsed through the brochure, director Salazar said that a student would be leaving the university for good for being unable to maintain funds needed for sustenance. Instantly, Mr. Tan handed over US currency for the sustenance of the student. In a later message to Mr. Angliongto, Jaycee senator Tan said, “I was deprived of continual tertiary education and spent seven years pursuing night classes to catch up. The confluence of events when you brought me to UPMin was timed that this student should not be deprived of earning a degree.” 

UP alumni visit UPMin for Bangkaw sa Dabaw

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Alumni

IMG 9620

Chancellor Lyre Anni Murao and UPAA-Davao chairperson Nap Concepcion welcomed Upsilon Sigma Phi alumni at the UP Mindanao campus on September 23, 2022. The alumni visited during their Bangkaw sa Dabaw golf and fellowship event. Former USC chair Andryc Carbonilla accompanied the visiting group.

Architecture department trains Surigao City LGU

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Alumni

 2022 080822 ARCHI SURIGAO 01
DAVAO CITY - Officials of the local government unit of Surigao City (LGU-Surigao City) Executive branch and Sangguniang Panglungsod members took an Executive – Legislative Agenda (ELA) training from UP Mindanao’s Department of Architecture to equip them to formulate a comprehensive multi-sectoral development plan for 2022-2025. Surigao City Mayor Pablo Yves L. Dumlao III (in the photo above), an alumnus of UP Mindanao’s Bachelor of Science in Applied Mathematics, led the LGU team in the three-day training on August 8-10, 2022, in Davao City.  “The formulation of the plan is mandated under Section 106 of the Local Government Code of 1991,” the mayor said. The LGU will use the learnings from the said training to further strategize the growth and development of the city’s urgent concern for socialized housing in the next 100 days of the mayor’s administration. 
Asst. Prof. Minerva Rosel, the graduate program coordinator of the Diploma/MA in Urban and Regional Planning program, facilitated the workshop, assisted by fellow faculty members, Asst. Prof. Ryan Songcayauon and Asst. Prof. Micah Amor Yares.  Prof. Isidoro Malaque III, Ph.D., provided overall supervision as Department of Architecture chairperson. 
“This training counts as one of engagement or extension services,” said Prof. Malaque. “We are using our proficiency in urban and regional planning as well as socialized housing promotions to guide the city’s task to rehabilitate the area after the effects of Typhoon Odette,” he said.

Alumni support UPMin's strategic plan

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Alumni

2022 070922 ALUMNI CROPT RESIZ 25
UP alumni pledged to provide sponsors for the proposed Bahay Alumni in the UP Mindanao campus and whatever support they can give to the UP Mindanao strategic plan. This was the collective response to the UP Mindanao strategic plan presented by Chancellor Lyre Murao and her vice chancellors, Annabelle Novero and Leo Manuel Estana, before officials of the UP Alumni Association Davao, the UP Mindanao Foundation Inc., and former UP Mindanao officials, in a meeting on July 9, 2022. Present at the meeting were [in photo, left-right] former VC Antonio Obsioma, UPAAD chairperson Nap Concepcion, UPMFI vice-chair John Gaisano, UPMFI chair Sebastian "Anggie" Angliongto, Chancellor Murao, former chancellor Sylvia Concepcion, VCAA Annabelle Novero, former VCAA Nilo Oponda, and VC for Administration Estana. Meeting support was provided by Sheila San Jose of UPMFI, Janessa Villota, Keith Brigette del la Cerna, and PRO Rene Estremera of UPMin-OC.  
The UP Mindanao strategic plan 2022-2025 made be browsed here: 

Lock full review 888 Bookmaker