School of Management

National Vegetable Congress, 2018

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in News

UPDATE: The 17th National Vegetable Congress (17th NVC) held at the Davao Convention and Trade Center on 22-24 August 2018 was concluded with co-organizers, Vegetable Industry Council of Southern Mindanao (VICSMIN) Inc., Department of Agriculture Regional Field Office XI, and University of the Philippines Mindanao, disclosing that 500-plus farmers and delegates from the vegetable industry and the various regions attended. UP Mindanao School of Management (SOM) has been involved with the vegetable industry since 2000 through its agribusiness research and extension, and as a project partner for more than 15 years. The VICSMIN and SOM carried out projects such as the Gulayan sa Barangay (GSB) projects, Farmer's Training, Vegetable Awareness Campaign, Organizational Development, and vegetable congresses. Currently, the SOM has an Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)-funded project in developing the vegetable value chains and integrating them with community development.

ORIGINAL POST: THE 17th NATIONAL VEGETABLE CONGRESS will be held on 22-24 August 2018 at the Davao Convention and Trade Center, Davao City. An accompanying Trade Fair and Exhibit will be open at the venue with free admission to the public throughout the congress. Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio and Agriculture Secretary Emmanuel Piñol will give their messages as Guest Speaker and Guest of Honor, respectively, at the Opening Ceremony on August 22. Afternoon talks will be on "Food Safety Law", "Farm Mechanization Act", "Climate-smart, high-precision farming", and "Vegetable production and agri-tourism", simultaneous with Farm-2-Business market-matching, and a meeting of the Vegetable Industry Council in the evening. August 23 will be the Farm Tour and the Agricultural Fellowship Night. Participants who cannot join the Farm Tour can engage in business-to-business (B2B) or farmer-to-business (F2B) meetings in the congress venue. The August 24 morning session will tackle industry initiatives culminating in a talk by Senator Cynthia Villar. The afternoon session will focus on technologies, a presentation from Mindanao Development Authority Chairman Datu Abul Khayr Alonto, a presentation of Council resolutions, and the Closing Ceremony. Co-organizer U.P. Mindanao has supported the Vegetable Industry Council for 15 years. For inquiries, call 09556857268; #17NationalVegetableCongress is the hashtag.

EMIT C4C Anchor Themes Workshop, 2018

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in News

The EMIT C4C (Escaping the Middle Income Trap Chains for Change: Partnerships for Inclusiveness and Competitiveness), a program under the UP CIDS in collaboration with the Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University (RSM), conducted an Anchor Themes Workshop on 27 January 2018 at the UP Mindanao Campus in Davao City. The activity was organized by Prof. Glory Dee Romo of the UP Mindanao School of Management. Attendees include UP Mindanao faculty from the business, economics, and natural science disciplines, UP Mindanao graduate students, and guests from the government, donor agencies, and civil society organizations.The workshop formed discussions surrounding the action research initiative of the EMIT C4C and its fundamental findings, which have engendered the anchor themes presented. The exchange with stakeholders both substantiated and enhanced the research data on the systemic issues of agriculture value chains. Dialogues on potential areas of partnership between EMIT C4C and UP Mindanao were also initiated through the forum.

UP Mindanao Chancellor, Dr. Sylvia Concepcion, delivered the opening remarks and attended the entire workshop. The speakers that tackled the Anchor Themes were Dr. Annette Pelkmans-Balaoing (Elaboration on the EMIT C4C and the Anchor Themes Workshop; Inclusive development and peace: The Unifrutti-LaFrutera-Hineleban case; and Undertaking Action Research Projects) and Dr. Rob van Tulder (Elaboration on the EMIT C4C and the Anchor Themes Workshop; The Nature of Wicked Problems; and Inclusive business strategies and peace) of the RSM, Prof. Vlademir Shuck (Democratizing Food Governance through Direct Marketing Strategies: The Case of Vegetable Farmer Clusters in Marilog, Davao City) and Prof. Thaddeus Acuna (Contextualizing inclusive business: Financial perspective) of the UP Mindanao, and EMIT C4C senior researcher, Ms. Jane Capacio (Cooperatives, Property Rights, & Agriculture Contracts). Dr. Pedro Alviola IV of the UP Mindanao facilitated the discussions as the moderator.

The Escaping the Middle Income Trap Chains for Change: Partnerships for Inclusiveness and Competitiveness (EMIT C4C) is a program under the UP CIDS that aims to develop action research cases on front runner companies and civil society organizations (CSOs) engaged in agriculture value chains.  The primary interest is to scrutinize and understand the key elements that would enable inclusive and sustainable partnerships in Philippine agricultural value chains in order to effectively involve and benefit smallholders, indigenous peoples, and other rural poor populations.  The program intends to build collaborative learning and cross-sectoral partnerships for inclusive and sustainable agriculture value chains among corporations, CSOs, government agencies, the academe, and farmer groups. (From:

Lock full review 888 Bookmaker