UP's Pride and Glory

Debate Society, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

DSC 0447

The UP Mindanao Debate Society paid a courtesy call to Chancellor Sylvia Concepcion to report on their participation in the 1st Philippine International Humanitarian Law Debates held on October 14-16, 2016 in Davao Central High School, Davao City.

According to Debate Society head Angellica Narvaiza (4,BA Communication Arts), four teams were fielded and participated in debates on issues of conflicts and wars such as the Syrian war, the US and Russian interventions, automated weapons systems, humanitarian aid, and the rules of wars.

UP-Min Team B composed of herself, Karl Tristan Butalid (3,BA Anthropology), and Wolfe Schievener Ote (3BACA) were tournament Semi-finalists.

Among the Quarter-finalists were UP-Min Team A composed of Bryle Matthew Bacatan (3,BS Food Technology), Renzo Polinar (3BACA), and Michael Saraña (3,BS Biology), who was named 7th Tournament Best Speaker.   

Serving as Adjudicators were Mark Billy Macaoay (2BSB), Nissa Caderao (2,BS Agribusiness Economics) and Sarika Rey (2,BA English), both of whom were named Breaking Adjudicators, and Kessel Mae Dominguez (3BSB), who was named 5th Best Adjudicator

UP-Min Team C was composed of Kimberly Cabantug (3BACA), Justin Neil villanueva (3BACA), and Jamie Therese Gundaya (4BACA).

UP-Min Team D was composed of Yrneh St. Lois Ladera (3BSB), Hyacinth Tiffany Jungco (3BACA), and Karl Andre Segovia (3BACA)

There were 170 participants coming from 13 different schools (7-high school, 6-college). The Debate was organized by the Philippine Red Cross-Davao City Chapter in partnership with the Davao Debate Union.

In the photo are (left-right) Andre Segovia, Kessel Dominguez, Tiffany Jungco, Angel Narvaiza, Chancellor Sylvia Concepcion, Michael Saraña, and Yrneh Ladera.  

UP ranked in Times survey, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

Times Higher Education (THE) released its results of world university rankings in September 2016. According to their letter, UP ranked “in the band of >800 this year out of 980 institutions” from 79 countries. UP got its highest scores in knowledge transfer and lowest in research influence.

THE ranks universities based on five “pillars”: 1) teaching or the learning environment (30 percent); 2) research volume, income, and reputation (30 percent); 3) citations or research influence (30 percent); 4) international outlook of staff, students, and research (7.5 percent); and 5) industry income or knowledge transfer (2.5 percent).

“Your strongest Pillar was Industry Income where you ranked in the fifth decile. Your weakest Pillar was Citations where you ranked in the ninth decile,” THE informed UP.

See the news report here.

Faculty in the list of Top Scientists, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

UP MINDANAO FACULTY MEMBERS IN THE LIST OF TOP 453 FILIPINO SCIENTISTS in the webpage "Ranking Web of Universities" administered by Cybermetrics Lab of the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (Spain):

# 127 Cleto L. Nanola Jr. (Dept. of Bio. Sci. and Envir. Studies)
197 Reynaldo G. Abad (DBSES)
221 Juma Novie A. Alviola (Dept. of Food Sci. and Chem.)
247 Larry N. Digal (School of Management)
254 Sylvia B. Concepcion (SOM)
272 Lyre E. Murao (DBSES)
276 Aleyla Escueta-de Cadiz (DBSES)
313 Annabelle U. Novero (DBSES)
346 Noreen V. Fundador (DFSC)
346 Pedro A. Alviola IV (SOM)
349 Marilou O. Montiflor (SOM)
354 Ruth U. Gamboa (DBSES)
376 Dominica D. Dacera (DFSC)
443 Luis Antonio T. Hualda (SOM)

In the same website, UP Mindanao is ranked number 12 in their list of top 100 universities in the Philippines in their July 2016 edition.  

To access the page, please click on the link here.

Swim Varsity earn medals in Kadayawan festival, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

DSC 0775     BS Agribusiness Economics sophomore Juan Antonio Mendoza won a gold medal, two silver medals, and one bronze medal for the UP Mindanao Swim Varsity Team in the 2016 Kadayawan Interschool Swimming Tournament held on 21 August at Ateneo de Davao Grade School.
     Mendoza won the gold medal in the 100m freestyle category, finishing at 58.06 seconds, marking him as the fastest swimmer in the same category overall in Davao City (based on the official Finals Time recorded). He won the two silver medals in the 100m backstroke and the 100m butterfly, a the bronze medal in the 100m breaststroke. He was awarded "Best Swimmer" for the 17yrs. and above category for males.
     The 5-person UP Mindanao Swim Team coached by Mr. Albert Ramos (Dept. of Human Kinetics) competed in 13 events and placed 10th out of 24 participating schools with 52 points accumulated. In the file photo at left are the swimmers who competed for UP Mindanao, namely (left to right) Mr. Mendoza, Ms. AJ Verga (BS Architecture), Ms. Paula Gabrielle Yap (BS Computer Science), Ms. Dominique Epie (BS Agribusiness Economics), Ms. Katherine Hintay who did not compete, and coach Albert Ramos (Dept. of Human Kinetics). Not in the photo, but who also competed, was Ms. Bhazel Acac (2BS Food Technology).

DACUN general assembly, 2016

Written by Rene Estremera. Posted in Achievements

IMG 20160728 162351

Commission on Higher Education-XI Regional Director Raul Alvarez Jr. (left-most) administers the oath of office to the newly-elected executive board members of the Davao Colleges and Universities Network (DACUN) in its general assembly held on July 29 where Dr. Linell Malimbag of Brokenshire College and Dr. Sylvia Concepcion of UP Mindanao (first and second in line from left) were elected president and vice-president, respectively. The DACUN member-schools are Assumption College, Brokenshire College, Davao Doctors College, Holy Cross of Davao College, Philippine Women's College of Davao, Rizal Memorial Colleges, San Pedro College, University of Mindanao, University of the Immaculate Conception, University of Southeastern Philippines, and UP Mindanao.

Lock full review www.8betting.co.uk 888 Bookmaker